Evidence-based medicine through an Indigenous lens: an Oncology Perspective

Presented by Dr. Jaris Swidrovich from the University of Saskatchewan.

Thursday, March 25, 2021 at 17:00 PST, 18:00 MST, 19:00 CST, 20:00 EST, 21:00 AST

A decolonial and Indigenous lens will be applied to Evidence Based Medicine (EBM) as we know it as a means of re-focusing the bias we all share regarding EBM.

In one hour, Jaris will:

  • Summarize Evidence Based Medicine (EBM) through an Indigenous lens;
  • Name and critically evaluate EBM with regard to the knowledge system(s) that inform it; and
  • Describe intercultural counseling strategies that honour Indigenous approaches to health and wellness.

Register Now

Photo of Dr. Jaris Swidrovich
Photo of Dr. Jaris Swidrovich
Dr. Jaris Swidrovich
BSP, PharmD, PhD(c)
Assistant Professor, College of Pharmacy and Nutrition, University of Saskatchewan — Saskatchewan

Dr. Jaris Swidrovich is an Assistant Professor in the College of Pharmacy and Nutrition at the University of Saskatchewan. He is a Two Spirit Saulteaux First Nations and Ukrainian man and pharmacist from Yellow Quill First Nation. Dr. Swidrovich is the first self-identified First Nations Doctor of Pharmacy in Canada and the first and only self-identified Indigenous faculty member in pharmacy in Canada. 

 

He received a Bachelor of Science in Pharmacy (BSP) from the University of Saskatchewan, a Doctor of Pharmacy (PharmD) from the University of Toronto, and is currently a PhD candidate in Education at the University of Saskatchewan. His areas of research, practice, and teaching include Indigenous health, HIV/AIDS, substance use disorders, 2SLGBTQ+ health, social determinants of health, and pharmacy / health professions education and practice. 

Once registered, you will receive an email confirmation containing the Zoom meeting link.

Please take a moment to print copies of the invitation flyer and post them within your pharmacy department or clinic offices. Also, feel free to circulate the announcement to your professional network via email, Facebook, LinkedIn and Twitter. Encourage your colleagues to become CAPhO members to take advantage of this great learning opportunity.

Do the date and time not work for you? You can watch the webinar at your leisure after the broadcast on the CAPhO website. Simply login as a member and visit the Past Webinars page.