Women’s Health and Fertility in Oncology

Presented by Dr. Jennifer Leung

Friday, May 21, 2021 at 12:00 PDT, 13:00 MDT, 13:00 CST, 15:00 EDT, 16:00 ADT, 16:30 NDT

It is important that pharmacists understand the mechanism of ovarian toxicity related to common cancer treatments and how to educate patients regarding this risk and mitigate this risk. Additionally, pharmacists are called upon for assistance in management of unique women’s health issues such as menorrhagia, so an understanding of this subject is also an asset. 

Learning Objectives:

  • Understand the mechanism of ovarian toxicity of common cancer treatments;
  • Compare the relative risk of infertility of various treatments including traditional chemotherapy, novel targeted agents and/or immunotherapy and hematopoietic stem-cell transplantation (HSCT);
  • Recommend management options for fertility preservation for women undergoing chemotherapy or HSCT;
  • Describe fertility preservation resources and programs available to Canadians; and
  • Develop prevention and treatment plan for severe menorrhagia associate with treatment or disease related thrombocytopenia.

Register Now

Photo of Dr. Jennifer Leung
Photo of Dr. Jennifer Leung
Dr. Jennifer Leung
Hematology Resident, Queen's University

Dr. Leung graduated with her MD from the University of Saskatchewan in 2016. She then completed training in Internal Medicine in Saskatoon, and qualified as a fellow of the Royal College of Physician and Surgeons of Canada in Internal Medicine in 2019. She started training in Hematology at Queen's University in 2019. She is enthusiastic about the promotion of women's health in both benign and malignant hematology. 

Once registered, you will receive an email confirmation containing the Zoom meeting link.

Please take a moment to print copies of the invitation flyer and post them within your pharmacy department or clinic offices. Also, feel free to circulate the announcement to your professional network via email, Facebook, LinkedIn and Twitter. Encourage your colleagues to become CAPhO members to take advantage of this great learning opportunity.

Do the date and time not work for you? You can watch the webinar at your leisure after the broadcast on the CAPhO website. Simply login as a member and visit the Past Webinars page.