CAPhO Educational Webinar Series: Complimentary for CAPhO Members

Critical Appraisal Tips for Matching-Adjusted Indirect Comparisons

Presented by Dr. Lauren Bresee from the Canadian Agency for Drugs and Technologies in Health (CADTH)

Friday, December 4, 2020 at 11:00 PST, 12:00 MST, 13:00 CST, 14:00 EST, 15:00 AST

MAICs are increasingly being used to evaluate medications used in oncology. It is important for pharmacists to be able to critically appraise MAICs to ensure accurate treatment decisions are made.

In one hour, Lauren will:

  1. State the definitions for indirect treatment comparison, effect modifier, prognostic factor, and effective sample size;
  2. Define the difference between an anchored and unanchored indirect treatment comparison;
  3. Discuss the process for conducting a MAIC, including the process of weighting individual patient data from the original trial to match the aggregate data from the comparator trial; and
  4. Critically appraise a MAC.

Dr. Lauren Bresee obtained her BScPharm in 2001 and completed an Accredited Canadian Pharmacy Residency program in Edmonton in 2002. She then completed an MSc in Medical Sciences-Public Health Sciences in 2005, a PhD in epidemiology in 2010, and a post-doctoral fellowship in pharmacoepidemiology in 2012. Lauren is a Scientific Advisor with the Canadian Agency for Drugs and Technologies in Health (CADTH) and is involved with the Scientific Advice, Common Drug Review, and pan-Canadian Oncology Drug Review programs. She is also an Adjunct Assistant Professor at the University of Calgary, an associate editor for the Canadian Journal of Hospital Pharmacy, and a researcher with the Canadian Network for Observational Drug Effect Studies (CNODES).

To register, log in as a member, and click the “Watch Webinar” button.

Not a member? Join now so that you can take advantage of all the benefits a CAPhO membership offers.

As a member, if you miss a live webinar, you can watch the webinar at your leisure after the broadcast on the CAPhO website. Simply login as a member and visit the Watch a Webinar page.