CAPhO Educational Webinar Series: Complimentary for CAPhO Members

CAR-T Therapy: Updates and Implications for Oncology Pharmacy

Presented by Melanie Trinacty, BSc, BScPharm, ACPR from The Ottawa Hospital

Friday, January 31, 2020 at 11:00 PST,12:00 MST, 13:00 CST, 14:00 EST, 15:00 AST

Chimeric Antigen Receptor T-cell therapy has been described as "ground-breaking" therapy with huge potential for treatment of many cancer types. Join your CAPhO colleagues from across the country  for an overview of what the oncology/hematology pharmacist needs to know about this exciting new therapy!

In one hour, Melanie Trinacty will:

  • Describe the mechanism and components of CAR T-cell therapy
  • Review which products are available in Canada and the evidence for each indication
  • Identify eligible patients for CAR T-cell therapy
  • Describe and review management of the common toxicities associated with CAR T-cell therapy

Melanie Trinacty has a BSc from Mount Allison University and a BScPharm from Dalhousie University.  She also completed a hospital pharmacy residency at The Ottawa Hospital (2012).  Melanie holds a full-time clinical pharmacist position with the Blood and Marrow Transplant team at The Ottawa Hospital but has temporarily assumed the role of Manager of the Pharmacy Cancer Program. She has a passion for fertility medicine and works part-time at Green Valley Pharmacy (associated with the Ottawa Fertility Clinic).  Melanie is currently completing her Masters in Healthcare Quality at Queen’s University.

To register, log in as a member, and click the “Watch a Webinar” button.

Not a member? Join now so that you can take advantage of all the benefits a CAPhO membership offers.

As a member, if you miss a live webinar, you can watch it at your leisure after the broadcast on the CAPhO website. Simply login as a member and visit the Watch a Webinar page.