CAPhO Educational Webinar Series: Complimentary for CAPhO Members

Cannabis for AINV – is there POT-ential?

Presented by Mia Aizon, 4th year PharmD student at the University of Alberta

Friday, December 6, 2019 at 11:00 PST,12:00 MST, 13:00 CST, 14:00 EST, 15:00 AST

Despite the growing interest in the use of cannabinoids for medicinal purpose, there is still some hesitation in advising patients due to the lack of evidence. This webinar will be exploring the current evidence of the efficacy and tolerability of cannabis-based medications for chemotherapy-induced nausea and vomiting.

In one hour, Mia Aizon will:

  • Describe the mechanism of action for cannabinoids to prevent or treat nausea/vomiting;
  • Discuss the different cannabinoid formulations, relevant pharmacokinetics, expected onset of action, precautions, adverse effects, contraindications, interactions and proper storage;
  • Summarize the existing evidence for efficacy and safety of cannabinoids in AINV;
  • Distinguish the special populations and circumstances where cannabinoid use requires additional caution or should be avoided;
  • Summarize the key counseling points for synthetic and natural cannabis medications in treating antineoplastic induced nausea and vomiting.

Mia Aizon is a 4th year PharmD student at the University of Alberta. She is currently doing a clinical rotation at Alberta Children’s Hospital and works on different projects under Tara Leslie’s preceptorship. She will present the “Cannabis for antineoplastic induced nausea and vomiting” webinar as marijuana has been increasingly discussed as a therapeutic option in CINV, especially after its legalization in Canada. At present, there are still gaps in literature and a need for further research. However, Mia has attempted to gather all available evidence to date to help pharmacists working in different settings answer common questions they may encounter about marijuana for CINV.

To register, log in as a member, and click the “Watch Webinar” button.

Not a member? Join now so that you can take advantage of all the benefits a CAPhO membership offers.

As a member, if you miss a live webinar, you can watch the webinar at your leisure after the broadcast on the CAPhO website. Simply login as a member and visit the Watch a Webinar page.