Announcing the 2016 Award Winners

During the CAPhO conference we honoured several CAPhO members by presenting them with an award. If you were not able to attend the conference, read on to find out who these deserving members are. For a full list of the 2016 Awards and Travel Grants winners visit the Award and Travel Grant Recipient page

Larry Broadfield Distinguished Service Award
John Wiernikowski - for his ongoing contribution to the success of CAPhO. John was not able to attend the Conference - we will post photos of his award presentation soon. 

Honourary Life Membership
Lee GordonJanice Kolbinson and Susan Walisser - Honourary Life Membership is granted to CAPhO members to recognize outstanding, long-term career contributions related to the profession of oncology pharmacy and to CAPhO. Those honoured retain all the privileges of active membership and are not required to pay membership fees.

Larry Broadfield, Lynne Nakashima, Christopher Ralph and John Wiernikowski - The Fellow of the Canadian Association of Pharmacy in Oncology (FCAPhO) was designated for the first time this year. FCAPhO recognizes excellence in the practice of oncology pharmacy in Canada by distinguishing oncology pharmacists and other health care professionals interested in oncology pharmacy who are CAPhO members and have made outstanding contributions to this field and to CAPhO.

Merit Award
Rick Abbott and Amélie Chartier - The CAPhO Merit Award is given to practicing oncology pharmacists, pharmacy technicians and assistants in recognition of a project or innovation in oncology pharmacy aimed at improving patient care and outcomes.

Volunteer Recognition Award
Shirin Abadi - CAPhO members volunteer many hours to the Association as part of our efforts to improve oncology pharmacy practice. Each year one member volunteer will be recognized for their contribution with a CAPhO Volunteer Recognition Award.

Student Member Award
Soha Ahrari - New in 2016, the Student Member Award was established to recognize student members and their contributions to the area of oncology pharmacy.

Past President
Joan Fabbro - The Past President award is presented to the outgoing President of the CAPhO Executive Committee at the end of his/her term.

CAPhO Conference Poster Awards
Three CAPhO Conference Poster Awards are presented annually at the Conference. There is one poster award for each of the following categories: Best Overall Poster for Research, Best Overall Poster for Pharmacy Practice and Best Overall Poster for Administration. This year's winners are:

Research - Adeline Markarian 
Pharmacy Practice - Soha Ahrari
Administration - Jordan Stinson
Best Overall Poster for Research