CAPhO's Board of Directors

The Canadian Association of Pharmacy in Oncology (CAPhO)'s Board of Directors is comprised of pharmacists, technicians and pharmacy assistants working in oncology.

The Board are volunteers committed to representing the professional interests and issues of oncology pharmacy at a national level. Find out more about volunteering with CAPhO.

The CAPhO Board is also responsible for maintaining our Bylaws.

Name / Email Position

Mark Pasetka
Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre

Mark Pasetka

president @


Mark graduated from the University of Manitoba School of Pharmacy in 2004 and spent three years in a variety of practice settings. After having finished his Doctor of Pharmacy degree at the University of Toronto (2009), Mark went on to complete a two-year post-doctoral fellowship in oncology at the Odette Cancer Centre in Toronto, Ontario (2011) and now serves as the Clinical Pharmacy Coordinator. Mark is a member of both national and international oncology organizations and has published articles in a number of recognized journals. His areas of interest include supportive care, health technology and education, and clinical research.

Joan Beliveau
BC Cancer Agency

Joan Fabbro

pastpresident @

Past President

Joan has been an oncology pharmacist at the BC Cancer Agency since 1997 and has held the position of Chemotherapy Certification Pharmacist since 2006. She is the Chair of the BCCA Pharmacy Safe Handling Working Group which has developed pharmacy directives/procedures for the safe handling of hazardous drugs for the BCCA.

Philip Shaheen
Cape Breton Cancer Centre & Dalhousie University College of Pharmacy

Philip Shaheen

presidentelect @


Philip graduated from Dalhousie University College of Pharmacy in 2003. He has served as the Oncology Clinical Pharmacist at the Cape Breton Cancer Centre in late 2010. He is involved in areas of safety improvement in chemotherapy preparation, as well as implementing processes around oral chemotherapy and coordination with community pharmacy. He serves on several regional and provincial committees and assists with undergraduate oncology education at Dalhousie University. 

Esther Jadusingh
Alberta Children's Hospital

Esther Jadusingh

treasurer @


Esther graduated with a Bachelor of Science in Pharmacy from the University of British Columbia in 2005 and completed an Accredited Canadian Pharmacy Residency in 2006. She is currently the Clinical Pharmacist in Pediatric Hematology, Oncology and Hematopoietic Stem Cell Transplantation at the Alberta Children's Hospital in Calgary.

Tara Leslie
Foothills Medical Center

Tara Leslie

educationpharmfundamentals @

Education Committee Chair Pharmacist - Fundamentals

Tara is a graduate from the University of Saskatchewan, College of Pharmacy. In 2010, she obtained her Board Certification in Oncology Pharmacy. Tara maintains a clinical practice with the inpatient Hematology and BMT program at Foothills Medical Center in Calgary. Outside of work, Tara enjoys playing the piano and spending time with her family.

Glenn Myers
The Moncton Hospital

educationpharmadvanced @

Education Committee Chair Pharmacist - Advanced

Glenn completed two years of a BSc (Chemistry) from Mount Saint Vincent University and went on to complete a BSc (Pharmacy) at Dalhousie University in 2011 and an Accredited Canadian Pharmacy Resident (ACPR) certificate at the Saint John Regional Hospital in 2011-12. Glenn is also a member of the Canadian Cancer Trials Group (CCTG) Breast Disease Site Committee and his main professional interests include identification and management of immune related adverse effects (irAE), pharmacy education and practice based research in the field of outpatient oncology. 

Colleen Thurber
Saskatoon Cancer Centre

Colleen Thurber

educationtechandassistant @

Education Committee Chair Technician / Pharmacy Assistant

Colleen graduated with a Pharmacy Technician Certificate from SIAST in 1998 and started her career with the Royal University Hospital pharmacy department in Saskatoon, Saskatchewan the same year. She has worked as an oncology pharmacy technician at the Saskatoon Cancer Centre since 2004 and moved to a senior technician position in 2009. Colleen is also the Co-chairperson of the Occupational Health and Safety Committee at the Cancer Centre.

Tom McFarlane
School of Pharmacy, Faculty of Science, University of Waterloo

Tom McFarlane

research @

Research Committee Chair

Tom is currently a Clinical Lecturer and a researcher at the University of Waterloo School of Pharmacy in Kitchener, Ontario, where he created, coordinates, and teaches the oncology portion of the curriculum in the Doctor of Pharmacy program and conducts practice based research.

Coleen Schroeder
McGill University Health Center

Coleen Schroeder

awards @

Awards Committee Chair

Coleen Schroeder graduated from the University of Manitoba in 2002 and completed a Hospital Pharmacy Residency with the Winnipeg Regional Health Authority in 2003. She then moved to Montreal and started working as an oncology pharmacist at the McGill University Health Center on the Montreal General Hospital site. Coleen received her Board Certification in Oncology Pharmacy in 2008. She enjoys spending much of her free time with her family.

Adam Gordon
Jack Ady Cancer Centre Pharmacy

Adam Gordon

membership @

Membership Committee Chair

Adam Graduated from the University of Alberta in 2008. He quickly entered oncology pharmacy practice in 2009 and has since worked in a number of areas in Alberta. In 2014 he has moved to the Jack Ady Cancer Centre in Lethbridge Alberta where he has expended his practice to include pharmacist prescribing with an emphasis on anti-emetic support for solid tumor patients. Adam continues to have an interest in the provision of oncology services through telepharmacy.

Soha Ahrari
Odette Cancer Centre - Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre

soha ahrari

communications @

Communications Committee Chair

Soha graduated from the University of Waterloo (Pharmacy) in 2014. She is currently pursuing her Master’s in Pharmaceutical Sciences at the University of Toronto and Pharmacy Oncology Fellow at Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre. Her research interests include supportive care, patient counseling, and using innovative technologies to improve patient care.